BAC News

BAC journal archive refresh

The Business Archives Council's journals can be found online. Scanned and placed in a web interface by the SDS Heritage the pages have been refreshed. Take a look and browse content from the 1960s onwards.

Read more

Notification of 2018 AGM

This year's AGM will be held on 14 November at The National Archives, Kew, London. The notification, nominations, minutes of last year's AGM and the 2017 annual report can be found on the AGM page.

The annual reports will also now be published on the website.

Read more

eabh history conference 26 October 2018

Institutional Investors. The history of professional fund management is a conference organised by eabh in cooperation with Schroders and Banque Lombard Odier to be held on Friday 26 October 2018 in London.

Take a look at the programme and book your ticket.


Read more

World Digital Preservation Day - 29 Nov 2018

With World Digital Preservation Day (WDPD2018) on 29th November fast approaching, the Digital Preservation Coalition (DPC) invites the sharing of stories from your 'Digital Preservation Day.' 

Organized by the DPC and supported by digital preservation networks around the globe, World Digital Preservation Day is open to participation across all sectors, from anyone interested in securing digital legacy - members and non-members alike - and will showcase the daily activities of those involved with or contemplating digital preservation.

Suggestions are:

  • Share a typical 'digital preservation day' on social media.
  • Blog about digital preservation and send a link to be added to the WDPD2018 page.
  • Hold and publicise a live event. Submit details to by 9 November and visit the What's On section of the DPC website.
  • Submit case studies to the BitList by contacting by Friday 9 November.

This year's events will culminate in the Digital Preservation Awards 2018 in a spectacular awards ceremony in Amsterdam. This event will take place as part of the International ‘Teaching and Training in Digital Preservation’ Conference on 29th and 30th November, hosted by the Dutch Digital Heritage Network and the Amsterdam Museum. Registration for this event is now open.

Find out more on the DPC website or email

Read more

Boots online archive catalogue

Walgreens Boots Alliance archives have launched the second phase of their online catalogue. Launched in 2017 it has been supported by Wellcome through their Research Resources programme.

The catalogue currently comprises around two fifths of the total archive holdings with over 27,000 entries and 4,500 images. Over the next three years further additions will be made until the entire collection is incorporated. The majority of the catalogue relates to the Boots UK collection and the material charts the development of the business into large scale manufacturing, product development, research and healthcare and beauty retailing.

Also included within the collections are business records of Walgreens, Dollond and Aitchison, Optrex td, Timothy Whites and Taylors Ltd, Unichema nd E Moss Ltd.

Take a look for yourself.

Read more